Section 4(1)(b)(ii) of RTI Act, 2005

Powers and Duties of Officers:

Secretary: - Secretary (Expenditure) is the administrative head of the Department.

Additional Secretary/Joint Secretary: For smooth functioning of the Department, it has been divided into 13 Divisions. The Divisions have been placed under the control of Joint Secretary level officers. These officers are entrusted with the responsibility in respect of all business falling within their Division's subjects to the general responsibility of Secretary (E) for the administration of the Division as a whole.

Director/Deputy Secretary: The Divisions have been further divided into Branches. These Branches are placed under the charge of Director/Deputy Secretary. Director/Deputy Secretary is responsible for the disposal of Government business dealt within the Division under his/her charge.

Under Secretary/Section Officer: The Branches are further divided into Sections and are placed under the administrative control of an Under Secretary/Section Officer. The Under Secretary exercises his control with regard to the disposal of business and maintenance of discipline. He disposes cases under the delegated areas at his own level, but he takes the order of Deputy Secretary/Director or higher officer on important cases. Section Officer is overall in-charge of a section and is responsible for training, helping and advising the staff, discipline in sections, timely Action on receipts, issuance of draft, efficient and expeditious disposal of work, etc. Section Officer disposes the work of section with the help of staff *(Assistant, UDC and LDC) posted in section Some units function as desk.